AllFull Forms

IIT ka Full Form | IIT full form | IIT full form in English

Full Form of IIT

IIT Full Form

The Full Form of IIT is the Indian Institute of Technology.IIT is the most famous and reputed engineering institution in India. The institution is an autonomous public engineering institution.

IIT full form in Hindi

IIT की फुल फॉर्म Indian Institute of Technology है। हिंदी में इसे ‘भारतीय प्रौद्योगिकी संस्थान’ कहते है।

In India, there are 16 IIT Institutions governed by the Institutes of Technology Act 1961. A wide range of undergraduate and postgraduate programs are offered by IIT, including civil engineering, computer science, mechanical engineering, electronics engineering, and architecture.

The JEE Advance entrance examination is conducted for admission to B.Tech.The IIT also has various doctoral programs including PhD, which is the highest degree at the IIT.

What Are The Courses Offered By IIT?

Following are some popular courses offered by IITs.

Courses Duration
         Mechanical Engineering 4 years
        Civil Engineering 4 years
         Electrical Engineering 4 years
         Aerospace Engineering 4 years
         Chemical Engineering 4 years
         Computer Science Engineering 4 years
        Automobile Engineering 4 years
         Aeronautical Engineering 4 years
         Industrial Engineering 4 years
         Electronic and Communication 4 years
         Petroleum Engineering 4 years
        Marine Engineering 4 years
   Ocean Engineering & Naval Architecture 5 years
Mining Engineering 5 years
Chemical Engineering with M. Tech 5 years
Civil Engineering with M. Tech. 5 years

IIT Admission Process

Getting admission to IITs is challenging. Candidates must have secured at least 75 per cent marks in their PCM board exams in the main subjects. JEE entrance exams are conducted by NTA (National Testing Agency). Also to appear in JEE Advanced, it is necessary to clear JEE Main.

JEE Entrance Exam

The complete form of JEE is the Joint Entrance Examination, which is an engineering entrance exam. It includes challenges and competition from other candidates. Some private and government colleges consider JEE scores for admitting students to their institutions.

JEE entrance has two parts:

1. JEE Mains.

2. JEE Advanced.

Students who clear JEE Main are eligible to attempt the second-level JEE Advanced exam. Those who crack JEE Advanced get into IITs.

Eligibility Criteria for IIT JEE Main Exam

General category candidates must have secured a minimum of 75% marks in the XII board exam. The candidate should be from a science background and also study Chemistry / Biology or Biotechnology with Mathematics and Physics as compulsory subjects In the SC-ST category candidates have 65% marks in any equivalent qualifying examination.

  • The candidate should be in the top 20 percentile of their respective std. XII Board.
  • JEE Main entrance exam has no age limit.
  • A candidate can attend JEE Main for three consecutive years from the year of appearing for the study. Class 12th One attempt consists of the January attempt and the April attempt of the same year.

Eligibility Criteria for IIT JEE Advanced Exam

Candidates who clear JEE Main exam are eligible to attempt JEE Advanced. Admission to various degree programs across IITs is through JEE Advanced.

  • Candidate should be in the top 2,50,000 in JEE Main.
  • Candidates only from a science background
  • General category candidates must have secured a minimum of 75% marks in the XII board exam and 65% for SC-ST category candidates.
  • Candidates are eligible to apply for JEE Advanced for two consecutive years after appearing for the exam.
  • Candidates admitted to IITs, IT-BHU, Varanasi, ISM, and ISM through JEE will not be allowed to appear for JEE in the future.

List of IIT Institutions In India

  1. IIT Dhanbad was established in 1926
  2. IIT Kharagpur was Established in1951
  3. IIT Madras was established in 1959
  4. IIT Kanpur was established in 1959
  5. IIT Bombay was established in 1958
  6. IIT Delhi was established in 1963
  7. IIT Guwahati was established in 1994
  8. IIT Roorkee was established in 2001
  9. IIT Hyderabad was established in 2008
  10. IIT Patna was established in 2008
  11. IIT Ropar was established in 2008
  12. IIT Varanasi was established in 2008
  13. IIT Indore was established in 2009
  14. IIT Mandi was established in 2009
  15. IIT Palakkad was established in 2015
  16. IIT Dharwad was established in 2016


Related Articles

Back to top button